تحدي تشغيل الشباب

خلفية عامة

تؤثر جائحة كورونا على النظم الصحية على مستوى العالم، وإلى جانب  الاحتياجات الصحية الملحة،  لجائحة كورونا عواقب اجتماعية واقتصادية لها آثاراً كبيرة على العمالة، والاستقرار المالي، والرفاهية العامة، والصناعات، وسلاسل القيمة التي تعتمد بشكل كبير على الخدمات اللوجستية. وكإستجابة طارئة للوباء، أعلنت الحكومة الفلسطينية عن ميزانية طوارئ تهدف إلى إبقاء الإنفاق العام عند الحد الأدنى، من خلال تركيز النفقات على ثلاثة بنود دعم النظام الصحي، مساعدات الفقراء، توفير رواتب الموظفين وإحتياجات الأمن.

على الصعيد العالمي وفي دولة فلسطين، من المتوقع أن تتأثر نظم التوريد الغذائية في الأشهر المقبلة. كشفت دراسة جديدة أجرتها جمعية مركز المؤسسات الصغيرة (SEC) أن قطاع التصنيع الزراعي النباتي هو الأكثر تأثراً بارتفاع تكاليف الإنتاج والخدمات اللوجستية، حيث أشار 83.8٪ من المبحوثين  إلى عدم توفر أو ارتفاع تكاليف المواد الخام. علاوة على ذلك، تؤثر القيود الحالية على الحركة وإغلاق الحدود على تدفق الإمدادات الغذائية مع التحديات اللوجستية الرئيسية والعوائق التي تحول دون وصول المزارعين إلى الأسواق. من المرجح أن يؤدي الاعتماد على المنتجات المحلية إلى زيادة كبيرة في دعم مفهوم "من المزرعة إلى المائدة" للترويج للأغذية المحلية من خلال تعزيز سلاسل القيمة الغذائية الزراعية ومدخلاتها.

في فلسطين، لعب القطاع الزراعي دورًا هامًا في توفير فرص العمل، خاصة في الأزمات لضمان الأمن الغذائي والتي كان من الصعب خلالها العمل في قطاعات أخرى. وفي ظل القيود الحالية للحد من انتشار الوباء فإن الحاجة إلى التركيز على استدامة سلاسل القيمة الزراعية- الغذائية أمر بالغ الأهمية للحد من مستويات البطالة وضمان الأمن الغذائي في الأشهر المقبلة كاستجابة لوباء كورونا. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية، يطلق مكتب رئيس الوزراء، بالتعاون مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي/ برنامج مساعدة الشعب الفلسطيني، تحديا لإستقطاب الأفكار والحلول التي تساهم في تعزيز سلاسل القيمة الغذائية- الزراعية الشاملة للشباب. نتطلع من خلال هذه التحدي إلى إستقطاب  نماذج جديدة ومبتكرة لخفض معدلات البطالة بين الشباب من خلال ادماجهم بشكل فاعل ومستدام في تطوير  سلاسل القيمة الزراعية- الغذائية.

نطاق التحدي

ينصب  التركيز على  تحدي تشغيل الشباب من خلال البحث عن نماذج مثبتة لإشراك الشباب في سلاسل القيمة الزراعية- الغذائية. والهدف من ذلك هو دعم خطط الإنفكاك الإقتصادي وتقليل الاعتماد على السوق الزراعية الإسرائيلي  من خلال دعم سلاسل القيمة الغذائية الحالية والجديدة بالتكنولوجيات والخدمات، وتعزيز استدامة النظم الغذائية المحلية، وخلق مساحة لتوظيف الشباب وبالتالي خفض معدلات البطالة.

 يمكن أن تتطرق الحلول المشاركة في هذا التحدي  لنماذج وممارسات وخدمات جديدة في المجالات التالية:

  • نماذج جماعية لإشراك الشباب مثل التعاونيات والمؤسسات الاجتماعية
  • خطط لإتاحة وصول الشباب إلى الاستثمار والتمويل والأراضي
  • تقنيات ونماذج ابتكار جديدة يمكن للشباب تبنيها وتطويرها لخدمة المدخلات والمنتجات الزراعية والغذائية وتطوير اوإدارة الموارد ذات العلاقة
  • تمكين السياسات والتدخلات ذات العلاقة  التي تحفز مشاركة الشباب في سلاسل القيمة الزراعية
  • وصول الشباب إلى الأسواق ونماذج الأعمال التجارية في مستويات أعلى في السلاسل الغذائية-الزراعية دون الاقتصار على النشاطات الزراعية التقليدية
  • اليات مبتكرة لوصول الشباب لمجموعة من المهارات والقدرات والمعارف المناسبة في مجال الزراعة
  • إنشاء منتديات شبابية وطنية أو إقليمية في سلاسل القيمة الزراعية بمشاركة الشباب
  • الابتكارات الرقمية التي تشجع على تقاسم الموارد والتسويق والخدمات اللوجستية.

تعتبر "السلاسل الغذائية -الزراعية" قطاعا واسعا يشمل العديد من الانشطة والخدمات والجهات ذات العلاقة بما يعكس دورة حياة مخرجاتها من"المزرعة إلى المائدة" وبما يشمل أيضا توزيع الأغذية وتجارة التجزئة والمطاعم والتغذية والمكملات الغذائية وما إلى ذلك. يمكن تقسيم سلسلة القيمة الغذائية-الزراعية من ناحية النماذج التكنولوجية التي قد تتطرق لها الحلول في هذا التحدي كالاتي:

  • Agritech من التربة أو الماشية إلى المنتج الزراعي أو الحيواني أو المكملات الغذائية ؛
  •  FoodTechمن المنتج الخام إلى المنتجات أو المكملات الغذائية المصنعة النهائية ؛
  • تكنولوجيات أخرى مهمة بالنسبة لسلسلة الغذاء دون الحصر؛ مثل التغليف والآلات وتجارة التجزئة والخدمات اللوجستية والكيميائية والمكونات الحيوية ، وما إلى ذلك ؛
  • logisticsTech تكنولوجيا اللوجستيات (المواد الغذائية وغير الغذائية): وخاصة "سلسلة التبريد" واللوجستيات الغذائية المتخصصة الأخرى ؛
  • PackagingTech تكنولوجيا التعبئة والتغليف (الأغذية وغير الغذائية): بما في ذلك التصميم والمواد الجديدة والطباعة وإعادة التدوير وما إلى ذلك ؛
  • RetailTech تكنولوجيا البيع بالتجزئة (الغذائية وغير الغذائية): من متاجر الزاوية إلى الأسواق الكبيرة الضخمة التي توزع الأغذية والمنتجات الاستهلاكية الأخرى ؛
  • BioTech التكنولوجيا الحيوية (الغذائية وغير الغذائية): معالجة المواد الغذائية لمقاومة الأمراض واليات التهجين، والنكهات الجديدة والمكونات الغذائية وما إلى ذلك.

 أعلن رئيس الوزراء العام 2020 هو"عام الشباب الفلسطيني"، وهو ما يمثل فرصة ثمينة لاشراك الشباب في التصدي  للتحديات التنموية في العديد من القطاعات من خلال  اقتراح الحلول التي من شأنها تسريع عجلة التنمية في فلسطين في مجالات عدة: الزراعة والتعليم والاستفادة من استخدام التكنولوجيا، والاستجابة للتبعات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لوباء كورونا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أطلقت الحكومة الفلسطينية مبادرة التنمية  بالعناقيد بالتركيز على قطاعات  الزراعة والسياحة والصناعة والذي يعتبر مرجعية  لتشجيع الحلول المبتكرة للتحديات التي تواجه تنفيذ خطط العناقيد وتعزيز صمود المجتمعات الفلسطينية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن  استراتيجية القطاع الزراعي للفترة 2017-2022 وإلى جانب تاكيدها  على دور المؤسسات ذات العلاقة في تعزيز المشاركة الفاعلة للشباب في قطاع الزراعة، فإنها تدعم رواد الأعمال الشباب للوصول إلى الخدمات الزراعية عالية الجودة اللازمة لتطوير سلسلة القيمة الزراعية.

ما الفائدة من المشاركة في هذا التحدي؟

من خلال هذا التحدي، يهدف مكتب رئيس الوزراء لاستقطاب ودعم النماذج والممارسات التي من شأنها زيادة فرص إدماج الشباب ومساهمتهم في  تطوير القطاع الزراعي ، وبما يضمن  إطلاق العنان لإمكاناته الهائلة، وتوفير فرص عمل جذابة، وخلق فرص متكافئة للشباب في العناقيد الزراعية.

 بعد مراجعة واختيار النماذج الواعدة، سيقدم  مكتب رئيس الوزراء وبالشراكة مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي / برنامج مساعدة الشعب الفلسطيني الدعم للمتقدمين للبدء او توسيع فكرتهم من خلال توفير خدمات الإحتضان والتمويل الأولي. سيقوم  مختبر التسريع الفلسطيني بتجربة الحلول / النماذج الفائزة للتحقق من فعاليتها، والعمل مع مكتب رئاسة الوزراء لدعم توسيع نطاق هذه الحلول واستدامتها. سيتلقى الأفراد/ الفريق الذين سيتم اختيارهم بناء على المعايير الموضحة أدناه ما بين 10,000 دولار وحتى 15,000 دولار كتمويل أولي يمكن توظيفه لإجراء المزيد من الاختبارات والتحقق من حلولهم. كما يمكن استخدام الدعم المادي لتطوير وتحسين النماذج الأولية وتوفير التجهيزات واستيفاء الشروط اللازمة للاختبار، والحصول على  التغذية الراجعة من السوق، والحصول على التراخيص أو المتطلبات التنظيمية، وما إلى ذلك من متطلبات. . كما سينظر مكتب رئيس الوزراء وبالتعاون مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي لدمج الحلول المصادق عليها ضمن برامج التعاون التنموي ذات العلاقة القائمة بين الحكومة الفلسطينية وشركائها سواء المحليين أو الدوليين. وبعد هذه المرحلة من الإختبارات الأولية، من الممكن أن يتلقى الفرد/ الفريق مزيدا من التدريب من قبل الخبراء الوطنيين و/أو الدوليين في القطاع، إلى جانب تعزيز فرص التشبيك للوصول إلى التمويل في حال  كانت نتائج الإختبار الأولي ايجابيا وتوفر أدلة على قابليه التوسع والاستعداد للاستثمار في الحل على نطاق أوسع.

معايير التقييم

يهدف هذا التحدي إلى الاستفادة من الأفكار الفردية أو الجماعية التي قد تطرح لإحداث تغيير أيجابي في الأنظمة الحالية لإشراك الشباب بشكل فاعل في سلاسل القيمة الغذائية الزراعية. يتم تشجيع الأفراد أو المجموعات على تقديم الطلبات، وكذلك المؤسسات من القطاع الخاص والمجتمع المدني. سيتم تقييم الأفكار بناءً على المعايير التالية:

  • الجدوى التقنية والاقتصادية للحل
  • مدى جهوزية الحل وتوفر الإثباتات الدالة على كفاءته
  • مدى مساهمة الحل في دعم خطط الاستجابة الحكومية لمعالجة تأثير كورونا على الاقتصاد
  • امكانيه اعتماد الحل وتكييفه وتوسيع نطاق تطبيقه مع السياق الفلسطيني
  • نطاق الأثر المترتب على اعتماد الابتكار ومدى مساهمته في تحقيق خطة العنقود الزراعي واهداف التنمية المستدامة
  • مؤهلات المتقدم/ة أو الفريق من حيث الخلفية العلمية والعملية ومدى التزام المتقدم/ة أو الفريق بتطوير الحل والقدرة على تطبيقه بدعم من مكتب رئاسة الوزراء وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي / برنامج مساعدة الشعب الفلسطيني

تقديم الطلبات

للمشاركة في التحدي، ينبغي على المتقدمين تعبئة الطلب بشكل كامل عبر الإنترنت والذي يمكن الوصول له على منصة حلوها من خلال النقر على أيقونه  Apply Now”". في حالة التقدم كفريق يجب تقديم طلب واحد فقط. نرحب بالطلبات باللغة العربية أو الإنجليزية، لذلك نترك لكم حرية إختيار اللغة التي تناسبكم بما يساهم بإبراز تميز حلولكم! الموعد النهائي لتقديم الطلبات هو7 تموز 2020 الساعة 3:00 مساءً بتوقيت القدس. لن يتم قبول أي طلبات بعد هذا الموعد.

اختيار الفائزين والخطوات القادمة

ستقوم لجنة مؤلفة من مكتب رئيس الوزراء،  وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي / برنامج مساعدة الشعب الفلسطيني وخبراء في القطاع بإختيار الحلول الفائزة للاستفادة من الدعم والتمويل التي يتم توفيره من خلال هذا التحدي. ستكون الخطوة التالية هي الترويج  لاستيعاب الحل وتوسيع نطاقه. يجب أن يكون الفائزون متاحين وملتزمين بالبدء بمرحلة الاحتضان والتحقق من الحل فور اختيارهم. لن يقوم مكتب رئيس الوزراء بالترويج لاستيعاب الحل على المستوى المحلي  فحسب، بل سيشجع ويدعم تحويل هذه الحلول لمشاريع خاصة مدرة الدخل لأصحاب الحلول وغيرهم من المشاركين في توسيع نطاق الحل وانتشاره على مستوى الوطن.

تقدم الآن

Youth Employment Challenge

Overview

The COVID-19 pandemic is affecting health systems globally, but other than the pressing health needs as a result of the pandemic, the socioeconomic consequences include significant implications for employment, financial stability, public welfare, and industries and value chains that heavily rely on logistics. As an emergency response to the pandemic, the Palestinian Government announced an emergency budget aimed at keeping public spending to a minimum. The budget will be allocated to health expenditures, income support to vulnerable Palestinians, support for affected firms, especially micro, small and medium enterprises, continuity of government, and maintaining security. Globally and in the State of Palestine food systems are projected to be disrupted for the coming months.

A recent perceptions survey conducted by SEC revealed that agro-processing industries were the most affected by higher production and logistics costs, as 83.8% of respondents pointed to unavailability or high costs of raw material. Furthermore, the current restrictions on movement and the closure of borders affect the flow of food supplies with major logistical challenges and impediments for farmers’ in accessing markets. Reliance on local products is likely to increase profoundly driving the ‘farm-to-fork’ concept of promoting locally sourced food through strengthening the agri-food value chains.

In the State of Palestine, the agricultural sector has played an important role in providing employment opportunities, especially in times of crisis to ensure food security and during which it was difficult to work in other sectors. Given the current lockdowns, the need to focus on the sustainability of agri-food value chains is critical to curb the levels of unemployment and to ensure food security in the coming months as a response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

To this end, the Prime Minister’s Office with the support of UNDP/PAPP is running a challenge to crowdsource ideas that contribute to strengthening youth-inclusive agri-food value chains. The ideas are expected to suggest new ways of strengthening the agri-food value chains while increasing youth engagement and lowering the unemployment rates.

Challenge Scope

The focus of the youth employment challenge will be to seek proven models for youth engagement in agricultural value chains. The goal is to decrease dependence on the Israeli agricultural market by supporting the existing and new value chains with technologies and services, strengthening the sustainability of local food systems, and to create a space for youth employment thereby lowering the rates of unemployment.

The models could be around introducing new models, practices and support services in fields such as:

  • Collective models of youth engagement such as cooperatives and social enterprises
  • Schemes to provide access for youth to investment, finance, and land
  • New technologies and innovation models that can be taken up by youth to improve and better manage resources, inputs and products in the agri-food value chain
  • Enabling policy and incentive schemes that encourage youth engagement in agricultural value chains
  • Access by youth to markets and business models in mid-high chains or off-farming opportunities
  • Access by youth to a pool of appropriate skills, capacities and knowledge in agriculture
  • Creation of national or regional youth forums in agri-food value chains with youth participation
  • Digital innovations that encourage resource sharing, marketing and logistics.

 

The “agri-chain” is a key focus sector (chain defined as from “farm-to-fork” including all its suppliers and services, such as food distribution, retailing, restaurants and catering, nutrition and supplements and dietary complements for a healthy life-style, etc.). The Agri-value chain is broad and diverse and can be divided, as shown below, into a series of “technological niches” and or broadly classified into various segments that the applicants would tackle in their proposed solutions:

  • Agri-tech: from soil or livestock to the agricultural product or supplements;
  • Food-tech: from the raw product to final processed products or supplements;
  • Other technologies which are critical for the food chain, but are not exclusive to it: such as packaging, machinery, retailing, logistics, chemical and bio-components, etc.;
  • Logistics-tech (food and non -food): especially the “cold-chain” and other specialized food logistics;
  • Packaging-tech (food and non -food): including design, new materials, printing, recycling, etc.;
  • Retail-tech (food and non- food): from the corner stores to the massive hyper- markets distributing food and other consumer products;
  • Bio-tech (food and non-food): treatment of food stuffs to resist diseases, obtain hybrids, new flavors, nutritional components, etc.

The Prime Minister’s Office has announced the year 2020 as the ‘Year for Youth,’ and this presents an incredible opportunity to tackle multi-sectoral challenges through youth engagement in proposing solutions that would advance various areas: agriculture, education,  capitalize on the use of technology, and respond to the socioeconomic consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic.  Additionally, the Government has launched the Cluster Program in 2019, which could be used to encourage solutions per cluster to promote the resilience of communities. As part of the Cluster Program, the following sectors were selected: agriculture, tourism, and industry. Additionally, one of the guiding pivots in the agricultural sector strategy for 2017-2022 emphasizes the role of farmer organizations to engage youth in agriculture, as well as it encourages youth entrepreneurs to access quality agricultural services needed for increasing value chain along with improving agricultural value chains.

What do you benefit?

Through this challenge, the Prime Minister’s Office aims to identify and support models and practices that increase responsible and youth-inclusive opportunities to modernize the agricultural sector, thus unleashing its huge potential, offering attractive employment opportunities and creating a level playing field for youth in agricultural clusters.

After screening and selecting promising models, the Prime Minister’s Office and in partnership with UNDP/PAPP will support the applicants in starting-up/expanding their idea through incubation support and seed financing. The Accelerator Lab will run experiments to validate the winning solutions/models, disseminate learning, advocate for solutions uptake and work with the Prime Minister’s Office to mobilize partnerships to support the scale-up and sustainability of these solutions. The individual/team with the most innovative and inventive market-based, technological or entrepreneurial solution will receive $10,000 -$15,000 as seed funding that can be used to further test and validate their solutions. The funds could be used to develop/improve prototypes, fulfill necessary conditions for the test, gather feedback, attain licensing or regulatory requirements. The Prime Minister’s Office in partnership with UNDP/PAPP will consider integrating some of the proposed solutions into existing development programs implemented by the Palestinian Government and its local and international partners. Following this rapid cycle of testing, the solution owner/s would benefit from further coaching by national and/or international experts in the sector and foster linkages for funding and uptake if the early test provided evidence of scalability and readiness for investment.

Evaluation Criteria

This challenge aims to unlock high impact and system level changes particularly in youth engagement in agri-food value chains. Individuals or teams are encouraged to apply, as well as entities from private sector and civil society. The ideas will be evaluated based on the following criteria:

  1. Technical and economic feasibility of the solution;
  2. Extent to which it has been tested and validated;
  3. Extent to which the solution contributes to supporting the government response plans to address COVID-19 impact on the economy;
  4. Potential of solution to be adopted and adapted to the Palestinian context;
  5. Scale of impact for the adoption of the solution;
  6. The potential of the solution to contribute to agriculture cluster plan and sustainable development goals (SDGs);
  7. Qualifications of candidate/team in terms of educational background, experience and the extent to which the candidate/ team are committed to further develop and implement their solution with the support of the PMO and UNDP/PAPP

Application

Applications for the challenge will be accepted through the ‘Solve It’ website. The solution owner/s shall submit a complete online application by clicking the “Apply Now” icon below. Only one application per solution should be submitted if you are applying as a team. Both English and Arabic applications are welcome, so it is up to you to decide which language you prefer to use to have your application stand out! The deadline for submitting the complete application is 7 July 2020 by 3:00pm Jerusalem time. No applications will be accepted beyond this deadline.

Selection of the Winner and Next Steps

A panel consisting of the Prime Minister’s Office, UNDP/PAPP, and experts in the sector will select winning solutions to benefit from the incubation support and potential seed financing made available through this challenge. The next step would be to advocate for the solution uptake and scale-up. The winner/s should be available and committed to enroll in the incubation support, as well as kick-start the testing phase immediately after being awarded. The Prime Minister’s Office will not only promote for the solution uptake at the national level but would encourage and support transforming these solutions into private ventures that generate more income for solution owner/s and others involved in the scale-up and widespread of the solution across the State of Palestine.

Apply now